Bookmark and Share

Republicans gather for Reagan Dinner

KILMARNOCK—The Honorable Winsome Earle-Sears addressed over 160 guests at the Lancaster County Republican Committee’s (LCRC) 24th annual Reagan Dinner Sunday, March 19, at Indian Creek Yacht and Country Club.

Johanna Carrington, LCRC chairwoman, also welcomed numerous distinguished guests including Kilmarnock mayor Shawn Donahue, Lancaster County Commonwealth’s Attorney Anthony Spencer, Virginia GOP Party chairman Richard Anderson, Lancaster County Sheriff Patrick McCranie, Lancaster County supervisor Jason Bellows and House District 67 candidate Hillary Pugh Kent.

Lt. Gov. Earle-Sears presented detailed solutions to numerous issues confronting the Commonwealth, reported Bill Glover. Lt. Gov. Earle-Sears emphasized the importance of the right to chose one’s school. She attributed her life achievements to her strong family and her education. She received her bachelor’s from Old Dominion University and her master’s from Regent University.

The LCRC invited seven high school “Student Ambassadors” who wish to promote American civics in schools. They aim to encourage their peers to embrace values that bind Americans while rejecting divisive messaging that bombards them every day. They hope to encourage their generation to treasure and protect the freedoms the U.S. offers.

Student Ambassadors included Northumberland High School seniors Abby Jennings and James Baker; Lancaster High School freshmen Miles Hollingsworth and Tyler Brent, sophomore Ashton Molineaux, senior Jarett Platsis and Virginia Tech freshman Teagan Mullins.

Jennings presented a speech focusing on the divisive messaging that can negatively impact the social environment, even in high school. Such division serves as a barrier to civil discourse, she said. Jennings urged her peers to learn to agree to disagree without allowing contentious issues to obscure the many more common values that all Americans share.

From left are Tyler Brent, Teagan Mullins, Martin Smith, James Baker, Jarett Platsis, Abby Jennings, Miles Hollingsworth, Lt. Gov.Winsome Earle-Sears and Ashton Molineaux.

From left are Johanna Carrington, Lt. Gov. Winsome Earle-Sears and Gene Underwood.

Bookmark and Share